Monday, August 30, 2010

SPIRITUAL BEGGARS - Return to Zero (2010)

Spiritual Beggars - Return to Zero

01 - Return to Zero
02 - Lost in Yesturday
03 - Star Born
04 - The Chaos of Rebirth
05 - We Are Free
06 - Spirit of the Wind
07 - Coming home
08 - Concrete Horizon
09 - A New Dawn Rising
10 - Believe in Me
11 - Dead Weight
12 - The Road Less Travelled
13 - Time to Live (Uriah Heep cover)

Sunday, August 22, 2010

THE SWORD - Warp Riders (2010)

THE SWORD - Warp Riders

Warp Riders is The Sword's first concept album, a science fiction maelstrom put to the storming, relentless riffage and pounding rhythms upon which the band has staked its reputation. It's also their most flat-out, supercharged, adrenaline-pumping work yet, a chrome-plated war machine that lords over the blackened sky. From the street-prowling anthems "Night City" and "Lawless Lands" to the two-part showdown of "The Chronomancer," to the furious mechanics of closing track "(The Night the Sky Cried) Tears of Fire," The Sword forces eminent domain ruling over heavy metal for the next decade, and welcome all challengers for an ill-fated shot at the title.

Warp Riders tells the tale of Ereth, an archer banished from his tribe on the planet Acheron. A hardscrabble planet that has undergone a tidal lock, which has caused one side to be scorched by three suns, and the other enshrouded in perpetual darkness, it is the background for a tale of strife and fantasy, the battle between pure good and pure evil. How it's told – through the dueling lead guitars of J.D. Cronise and Kyle Shutt, and the concussive rhythm section of bassist Bryan Ritchie and drummer Trivett Wingo – underscores the narrative with molten steel and unreal precision.


1. "Acheron/Unearthing the Orb" 3:43
2. "Tres Brujas" 4:09
3. "Arrows in the Dark" 4:30
4. "The Chronomancer I: Hubris" 7:35
5. "Lawless Lands" 5:09
6. "Astraea's Dream" 3:23
7. "The Warp Riders" 3:57
8. "Night City" 3:50
9. "The Chronomancer II: Nemesis" 5:49
10. "(The Night Sky Cried) Tears of Fire" 6:11

Total length: 48:16